The Tent: A safe place for shepherds to reflect together
RegisterRegister   Log inLog in 

A threat from inside

ShepherdLeader.com Forum Index -> While Shepherds Watch Their Flocks -> Day 17: Recognizing the Wolves
View previous topic :: View next topic  
h5463

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2016 4:21 pm    Post subject: A threat from inside Reply with quote

I once confronted with a couple in our church, when they’d been invited to join a local Unitarian Universalist gathering. On a particular Sunday they missed our church service for going to the other “church”. After that they explained they just wanted to visit another church. But they posted visiting photos in our church website that they apparently joined a non-Christian religious service. I found I need to ask them for avoiding that kind of service. As a pastor, I only encourage our members to visit other Christian church if needed. I left a friendly reminder under the photos the wife posted publicly. She then took down the photos and my message, and once again posted the original photos with her comment: “every saint and religion share the same faith; the difference is only on forms." I felt I have no choice but warn other members online that there is another religion proactively inviting our people and we need to be cautious.