The Tent: A safe place for shepherds to reflect together
RegisterRegister   Log inLog in 

Tough Love

ShepherdLeader.com Forum Index -> While Shepherds Watch Their Flocks -> Day 23: The Rod
View previous topic :: View next topic  
peterlim23

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 10:17 pm    Post subject: Tough Love Reply with quote

I finally saw what a shepherd's rod looked and felt like. It was about the size of a billy club with a round nob on the end. It was hard, dense and it felt like it would seriously cause damage if wielded. Simply put, its a weapon. But it was a defensive weapon used to protect the flock from predators but it was also a tool used to keep the flock in line, to bring upon it discipline.

As a pastor, I don't like yielding my "rod" but if I didn't then I'd be a really poor pastor. I am also a father of two little boys. I love my boys! I enjoy spending time with them, hanging out, wrestling, playing sports and just flat out having a great time. However, my boys are not perfect and there are times when they do really "dumb" and disrespectful things and I need to, I have to discipline them. I don't enjoy disciplining my boys. It breaks my heart. However, if I don't discipline them, am I really loving them?

In the same way, God is calling me to discipline my congregation when it is necessary. In the same way, I don't enjoy disciplining my flock, however, if I don't discipline them, am I really loving them?

The Hebrew writer says, "Endure hardship as discipline; God is treating you as sons. For that son is not disciplined by his father? If you are not disciplined...then you are illegitimate children and not true sons" (12:7 - 8). Likewise, if I don't discipline my flock, then in reality, they are not my flock and I am not their shepherd. However, to say that I am their shepherd, then in love, when it is called upon, I must wield the rod.
garyh

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2013 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote