The Tent: A safe place for shepherds to reflect together
RegisterRegister   Log inLog in 

Shepherds After My Own Heart: David as Shepherd

ShepherdLeader.com Forum Index -> Shepherds After My Own Heart -> Open Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
preacheral

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 4:16 pm    Post subject: Shepherds After My Own Heart: David as Shepherd Reply with quote

The cool thing about David was that he was such a renaissance man. Shepherd, musician, fighter, poet - all of these roles ultimately led him to becoming Israel's quintessential king. He, of course, was not perfect by any stretch of the imagination but nonetheless he became the blueprint against which all the subsequent kings were judged. It's amazing to reflect on his body of work and realize that his words are still some of the most familiar in the history of literature, "The Lord is my shepherd...".

At the risk of sounding blasphemous I have to admit that as a pastor I sometimes get sick of the 23rd Psalm. If I've said it once at a funeral I've said it a thousand times. But when I'm able to put aside all the baggage that I bring with me to the reading of that psalm I have to admit that it's beauty and depth of insight are unmatched.