The Tent: A safe place for shepherds to reflect together
RegisterRegister   Log inLog in 

Shepherds After My Own Heart: Intro & Chapters 1-3

ShepherdLeader.com Forum Index -> Shepherds After My Own Heart -> Open Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
stevebraswell

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:38 am    Post subject: Shepherds After My Own Heart: Intro & Chapters 1-3 Reply with quote

I am commenting on Timothy Laniak’s book, Shepherds After My Own Heart. As a pastor myself, I move back and forth in personal reading between two categories of books: (1) books that appear to be immediately practical in my work (e.g. books that give me sermon ideas or illustrations or program ideas that I can implement almost “as is”) and (2) books that deal with ministry issues and theological issues that provide the foundation for Christian ministry but that are “tough sledding” when it comes to actually wading through all the material in the book or that require a lot of thought for me to understand what the author is saying, much less let any of it make any difference in my everyday ministry. As you might guess from the way I’ve weighted these two categories of books, it is much easier for me to read the “first category” of books, although I know that if I never read any of the “second category,” I am keeping a steady diet of candy and ice cream without adding any vegetables and meat. I know that wouldn’t be good as a diet for my body, so my guess is that after a while it will also take a toll on my ministry.